Homemade Butter

Finally, I made butter!  I have seen a few times now on other blogs how simple it is to make homemade butter.  Simple, organic, you know what’s in it, made with your hands, and yummy!  Here’s what I did…

Poured 1 pint of organic heavy whipping cream (I used Horizon) into my stand mixer with whisk attachment.  Beat on medium-high speed for a little over 10 minutes.  Scooped a little at a time into my very small mesh strainer.  (I think it’s time to invest in a larger one.)  Then with the back a spoon squeezed all the liquid out.  Then dumped the solid butter into a bowl and repeated several times.  Once I had all the solid butter, I balled it up in my hands and squeezed out as much milk as I could.  Then wrapped it with a paper towel to get a little more moister out.  The butter will last in the refriderat0r for up to 2 weeks.  With the leftover “buttermilk” I will use to make pancakes tonight.

If you like salted butter, you can add a little salt to the solid butter.

Leave a Reply

